CLARKS SUMMIT, Pa.—Messengers to the GARBC Conference elected new members to the Council of Eighteen during the Tuesday afternoon business session.

The GARBC Council of Eighteen is a group of men elected by the voting messengers from GARBC churches. Council members serve a three-year term and can be re-elected to a second three-year term. The Council makes recommendations to the association to further its work and to implement all actions and policies of the association.

The following men were elected to the GARBC Council of Eighteen:

  • Mike Augsburger, pastor—Willow Creek Baptist Church (West Des Moines, Iowa)
  • J. Wayne Hart, pastor—Maranatha Baptist Church (Grimes, Iowa)
  • Mike Hess, pastor—Calvary Baptist Church (Mount Pleasant, Iowa)
  • Ken Spink, pastor—Berea Baptist Church (Berea, Ohio)
  • David Strope, pastor—Ankeny Baptist Church (Ankeny, Iowa)
  • Gerald Webber, pastor—Maranatha Baptist Church (Sebring, Fla.)

The following men are currently serving on the Council with time remaining on their terms:

  • Tom Alexander, pastor—First Baptist Church (Wellington, Ohio)
  • Bryan Augsburger, pastor—First Baptist Church (Arlington Heights, Ill.)
  • Bryce “Bernie” Augsburger, representative—IL/MO Association of Regular Baptist Churches (Washington, Ill.)
  • Sam Farlow, pastor—Westwood Baptist Church (Fresno, Calif.)
  • Ken Floyd, representative—Michigan Association of Regular Baptist Churches (Grand Rapids, Mich.)
  • Will Hatfield, pastor—CrossRoad Baptist Church (Ames, Iowa)
  • Bill Jenkin III, president—Continental Baptist Missions (Rockford, Mich.)
  • Craig Johnson, pastor—Indianola Regular Baptist Church (Indianola, Iowa)
  • J. O. Purcell, pastor—Tri County Baptist Church (The Villages, Fla.)
  • John Sauser, pastor—Harvest Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Iowa)
  • Don Shirk, pastor—Grace Baptist Church (Batavia, N.Y.)
  • Bruce Thompson, pastor—Bethel Baptist Church (Oskaloosa, Iowa)

In a meeting on Tuesday evening, June 26, the newly seated Council of Eighteen elected the following officers:

Bryce “Bernie” Augsburger–chair
Ken Floyd–vice chair
David Strope–secretary

--13 GARBC Council of Eighteen