National Moment of Remembrance: Sunday, Sept. 11
The U.S. Senate unanimously passed a resolution on July 22 establishing a Moment of Remembrance to memorialize the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks with one minute of reflection. Cities and towns, firehouses, and other institutions across the country will mark this Moment of Remembrance with sirens and the ringing of bells at 1:00 p.m. ET (12:00 p.m. CT, 11:00 a.m. MT, 10:00 a.m. PT). Each church is asked to ring bells (or handbells) for one minute at the top of this hour on Sept. 11.

Chaplain Reflects on Ground Zero
Chaplain (Col.) Allen “Doug” Ferry has recorded a video reflecting on the events of Sept. 11. Allen served as a lead chaplain at Ground Zero. You may view the video at http://vimeo.com/27491029.

Baptist Builders Club Prepares for Storms
It’s hurricane season! Just as Hurricane Katia weakens, sparing the U.S. East Coast, Tropical Storm Maria has formed in the Atlantic. This storm, the 13th named system of the season, is likely to eventually threaten the U.S. East Coast, according to forecasters. Churches in Northeast U.S. are now facing the danger of flooding. We want to be ready to give immediate assistance to churches when their facilities suffer destruction by hurricanes and other natural disasters. Be proactive in assisting sister churches in the GARBC—donate now to the Baptist Builders Club Help Up fund!

Providing Books for Internationals
Do you have Bible study references or books in your library that you really don’t use? Has a loved one who was in ministry died, and now you are wondering what to do with all of those books? Gospel Literature Services, a GARBC ministry, accepts donations of books to give to pastors who don’t have access to such libraries. Recently Nancy Makiling, a GARBC staff member, mailed a box of books to ministry leaders in the Philippines, Nancy’s country of origin. And Nancy says that women who lead musical groups in the Philippines continue to need sheet music for choirs and thin chorus books for youth and adults.

Once GLS has the books, they rely on donations to pay for the shipment of the materials to internationals. You can play a role in discipling believers around the world by equipping international leaders and pastors with books for their ministries. For more information on donating books, e-mail Marianne Baltensperger. To donate money for shipping, you can contribute online or send a check to GLS, 1300 North Meacham Rd., Schaumburg, IL 60173.